Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

Moonshot

Moonshot
Author: Alessandra Torre
Publisher: Alessandra Torre
Published: July 4, 2016
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

4 stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Baseball isn’t supposed to be a game of life and death…

The summer that Chase Stern entered my life, I was seventeen. The daughter of a legend, the Yankees were my family, their stadium my home, their dugout my workplace. My focus was on the game. Chase… he started out as a distraction. A distraction with sex appeal poured into every inch of his six foot frame. A distraction who played like a god and partied like a devil.

I tried to stay away. I couldn’t.

Then, the team started losing.
Women started dying.
And everything in my world broke apart.

my thoughts new

“Certain loves can’t be fought. The harder you tried, the harder you would be knocked back, over and over again, until it beat you into submission, until your heart caved and body surrendered.”

My love for Alessandra Torre and her way of captivating me with her terrific writing grows with every single one of her books. Moonshot was beautiful and unforgettable. I freaking loved it!

Tyler Rollins was seventeen years old when she fell in love with baseballer Chase Stern, 5 years her senior and a member of the New York Yankees baseball team. Growing up, she has been working as a ball girl, accompanying her dad who’s a member of the said team. With Tyler and Chase’s situation and age difference, their relationship seemed a NO-NO, but despite the odds, both of them managed to hide their relationship. One night, a single mistake ruined their relationship which led Chase to be traded to another team. Since the next events will be a spoiler, that’s for you to find out what happens next. 😉

First of all, I loved the idea and the premise of this book. At first it kind of reminded me of Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross because of the similarities of their heroines whose fathers are also members of a baseball team. They also fell in love with a hot baseball golden boy. But of course, the similarity ends there. In the later chapters, the storyline changed and wheeled into something different, more interesting, and edgier. Plus, a lot of surprises came out which made the whole thing stunning.

The book was so unpredictable and it took me on a roller coaster of emotions. One time I was swooning, the next time I was crying. Oh boy, what you do to me, Alessandra Torre. The characters were also well-portrayed and very likeable. I loved Tyler and her passion for baseball and the full support she gave to her father and the team. Chase was also an amazing character. Everything about him was appealing.

I can’t also deny the fact that these two have this undeniable sexual chemistry. Those scenes… I cannot!

description

Not only did the book provide so many swoon-worthy and steamy moments but it also had the right amount of angst and an air of mystery in it. And that PLOT TWIST. Wow! That. Was. Mind-Blowing.

“Life is a series of stupid decisions interrupted by luck.”

The world of baseball was also well-represented here. I loved the way those technical words were mentioned and described and made me vividly picture out the baseball scenes in my mind. In my opinion, this is how sports romance should be written. Well-done! Now if you’re looking for a great sports romance book, I highly recommend Moonshot! It’s everything you’ll want and then some. 🙂

** I buddyread this book with my lovely friend Maria **

Rating:

4 stars

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Review: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

  1. Pingback: Review: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre — Pearl’s Book Journey | Lisa's -Home for Books and More!

  2. Fab review – I love your gifs

  3. I’m so glad you loved this one, Pearl! I’m hearing such great things about it so I’m thinking I need to read it, too!

Leave a Reply

