Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: The Baller by Vi Keeland

The Baller: A Down and Dirty Football Novel

The Baller
A Down and Dirty Football Novel
Author: Vi Keeland
Publisher: Vi Keeland
Published: January 18, 2016
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

three point five

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

From New York Times and USA Today Bestseller, Vi Keeland, comes a sexy new novel.

The first time I met Brody Easton was in the men’s locker room.
It was my first interview as a professional sportscaster.
The famed quarterback decided to bare all.
And by all, I don’t mean he told me any of his secrets.
No. The arrogant ass decided to drop his towel, just as I asked the first question. On camera.
The Super Bowl MVP quickly adopted a new hobby—screwing with me.
When I pushed back, he shifted from wanting to screw with me, to wanting to screw me.
But I don’t date players.
And it’s not because I’m one of the few women working in the world of professional football.
I’d date an athlete.
It’s the other kind of player I don’t date.
You know the type. Good looking, strong, cocky, always looking to get laid.

Brody Easton was the ultimate player.
Every woman wanted to be the one to change him.
But the truth was, all he needed was a girl worth changing for.
Turned out, I was that girl.
Simple right?
Let’s face it. It never is.
There’s a story between once upon a time and happily ever after
And this one is ours.

my thoughts new

“Brody Easton, the man who’d entered my life like a storm, had turned out to be my calm. How was that for irony?”

What can I say? This book was a guilty-pleasure read yet at the same time it was overloaded with angst and so much more.

The Baller tells the story of Delilah Maddox, a football sportscaster of World Media Broadcasting and Brody Easton, quarterback of New York Steel. These two met when Delilah interviewed Brody at the locker room live after the game and Brody teased her by dropping his towel and showing her his ‘big rock’. Since that day, Brody didn’t stop chasing her. They eventually dated and got to know each other. Their relationship seemed perfect at some point but like any high-profile relationships, it’s not all rainbows and butterflies always. They both carry emotional baggage and Brody can’t seem to get past his history with his first love named Willow while Delilah still hasn’t moved on from her boyfriend who already passed away.

I think it’s fair to say that this book surprised me in a good and bad way. Good, because it started off with a nice flow. It was light-hearted and sexy with lots and lots of humor in it. Brody was so funny even though he was an arrogant ass and so full of himself. He was still swoon-worthy (but who doesn’t love hunky sports men?). All throughout the first half of the book, I was also grinning from ear to ear because I thought the storyline and its tone was simply the one that I was looking for in a sports romance book. I loved their sexy banters and the sexual tension and frustration all rolled into one.

Now on to the bad side. I hated how everything turned out in the second half of the book, mainly because of the unexpected random POV of that certain character.

description

What in the world just happened??? Why on earth did the author include that certain character in the story? It was so annoying and completely unnecessary!

While I’m also a fan of angsty novels, I thought the level of angst and drama in this book was over-the-top. I wished the book just focused on Brody and Delilah’s love story and not on the secondary ones because this book is THEIR story after all, isn’t it?

With everything being said, the book still captured me. It kept me gripped and it managed to make me stick my head in it until the very last page. It was, as a whole, a whirlwind of emotions kind of book. Not what I have expected but still, a good sports romance.

(I buddyread this book with my sweet friend Allie.)

Rating:

three point five

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

GR signature 2

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Review: The Baller by Vi Keeland

  1. Yay first comment! Interesting book review, sounds like fun. Come over and visit my blog, I just posted a book review of my own!

  2. Thank you for this honest review Pearl, the synopsis really sounds interesting 🙂

    • Clara! 🙂 Surprised to hear from you here. Thank you, dear! ❤ It was a great spors romance book despite my issues. A guilty-pleasure one. I still recommend it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

