Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Novella Review: To Have by Alessandra Torre

To Have (The Dumont Diaries, #1)

To Have
(The Dumont Diaries #1)
Author: Alessandra Torre
Publisher: Dark Shadow Publishing
Published: 2014
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Erotica
My Rating:

4

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

I step on the dark stage, the cheap plastic of my platforms cutting into the top of my toes, every step bringing a pinch of pain. I keep my eyes down, following the flecks of silver on the unforgiving stage, waiting, exhaling a breath in controlled anticipation, my abs tightening. Then, the lights come on and I have almost three minutes to forget.

Welcome to my life, a drained bank account and six nights a week spinning around a greasy strip club pole. When salvation comes in the form of six feet of drop-dead-gorgeous, complete with a limo and a thick wad of cash, my stilettos run happily out the door to freedom. They say that money doesn’t buy happiness. But it does buy escape. Happiness is an overrated fairytale.

*To Have is a novella, 15,000 words in length, and was part 1 of a 4-part series. Their titles are:

To Have
To Hold
Till Death
Do Us Part

my thoughts new

Expect a beautifully written story when you’re reading an Alessandra Torre book.

To Have is the first part of The Dumont Diaries novella series. It’s an easy and quick read that introduces the flawed heroine Candy. Candy is a stripper at a gentleman’s club. She actually went to college and finished a degree before she went stripping but because she wasn’t able to land a job, she resorted into stripping in order to sustain her needs and to survive in a strange city she lives in. Her life unexpectedly changed when she met the blue-eyed, filthy rich mysterious man who asked her to privately dance for him but later on offered a deal that she could either accept or refuse.

I loved how gripping and all-consuming this story was. I totally connected to Candy as well as with Mr. Dumont. There was an intensity between these characters that sucked me in. Mr. Dumont’s air of mystery also intrigued me, I want to know more about this Alpha man in the next novellas.

Also, this story speaks reality. Anyone who is put in a situation that does not sit well with the society doesn’t deserve to be judged.

“I can understand your judgment. I know that I am a prostitute. I’m not proud of it..”

I also loved the intimate scenes shared by the characters in this book. They were certainly intense and oh, so hot!

All in all it was a very interesting introduction to The Dumont Diaries. I’m definitely digging this series!

Rating:

4

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

GR signature 2

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

