Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Sustained by Emma Chase

Sustained (The Legal Briefs, #2)

Sustained
(The Legal Briefs #2)
Author: Emma Chase
Publisher: Gallery Books
Published: April 25, 2015
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

5 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I’m going to Mommy & Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal’s office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that — that, I know how to do.

my thoughts new

One of the best rom-coms ever!

When Emma Chase writes a book, she really means business. I loved how she did it this time. This book is now my new favorite!

Sustained is the second book of The Legal Briefs series. It can be read as standalone. This time it’s Jake Becker’s story. A successful lawyer, he doesn’t do relationships and commitments as they just complicate his career. That was until he accidentally ran into a 10 year-old boy named Rory and met his gorgeous aunt named Chelsea McQuaid. Chelsea, by the way, is an artist and she was living a fabulous life. But when her brother and his wife met an accident which cost their lives, she left everything behind and wholeheartedly took care of the six children of his brother and acted as their guardian. Several problems happened in the household which led to her constant seeking of Jake’s help. And as Jake spent most of his time helping Chelsea solve her problems, he became closer to the family and his feelings got deeper not just to the kids but also to Chelsea.

The best thing about this book, of course, was Jake. He’s literally perfect. I loved his character development. He first resisted attachment with anybody in order to avoid commitment, but when he met those cute and adorable McQuaid kids– everything just changed. He’s so husband and father material.

The book was also unique in my opinion. I rarely meet a romance book that basically covers an important family aspect, with funny and adorable kids being the center of it. What particularly impressed me was how Jake’s profession became a huge part of the story. This tall, smart, and sexy attorney… He is so adept in his profession that he can really defend the poor little kids against the people who are trying to separate them from Chelsea. I can never get enough of him!

I also loved Chelsea. She’s the kind of heroine that will quickly make her way into my heart. I loved her simplicity and her passion to the kids. She’s also adorable in so many ways and her chemistry with Jake is spot-on!

Best of all, I loved the kids. Riley, Rory, Raymond, RosaleenRegan, and Ronan. They are all so lovable! My favorite is Regan. Let her say “hi” all the time and it will make you giggle. Lol.

This has been a fun book. It offered tons of enjoyable scenes which were also blended with drama, sexiness, and all kinds of cuteness. It really deserves all the praises it gets from everyone who also enjoyed it. 🙂

Rating:

5 stars new

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

GR signature 2

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

