Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Lick by Kylie Scott

Lick (Stage Dive, #1)

Lick
(Stage Dive #1)
Author: Kylie Scott
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Published: November 11, 2013
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

4

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man in her room, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is certain, being married to one of the hottest rock stars on the planet is sure to be a wild ride.

my thoughts new

“You made sense to me. We make sense. We’re a whole lot better together than apart.”

This book was all I’ve ever needed in a rock star romance story. Lick was a sweet, fast moving, and guilty-pleasure book that was a pure joy to read.

description

The story began when Evelyn “Ev” Thomas woke up with a realization that she’s married to the famous lead guitarist of Stage Dive band, David Ferris. She happened to forget the details on how she got married to him though, because apparently it was a drunken marriage that happened in Vegas. Now she is in for a crazy and unexpected ride of her life– being a Mrs. David Ferris wherein she has to deal with paparazzi stuffs and obsessed fans. And being someone who’s confused whether she wants the marriage to continue or not– given the fact that it was an insta-marriage kind and that David is still a stranger, after all.

First of all, I loved David. I’ve read a few rock star stories with equally hot rock star leads but David is quite different. Apart from being a man-candy who has an intoxicating charm all over his body, this guy knows exactly how to care for his woman. I loved the way he extended his sweetness for Ev and the way he chased after her when things got bad.

Our heroine Ev is also likeable, although I wish to see more depth in her character. Despite the absence of that factor though, I found her feelings for David genuine. She didn’t care about how rich and famous David is but instead she treated him like an ordinary guy. As for the side characters, I found them really adorable and interesting– especially Mal and Jimmy. I can’t wait to read their stories in the next books of this series!

Overall, this book met my expectations. It didn’t fail to surprise me and make me smile the whole time I was reading it. I loved that it was just light and easy read, without unnecessary dramas. I also loved how it was written in an enticing and delicious way. It’s my first time to read Kylie Scott’s work and she sure made me fall in love with her writing style.

(I’ve read this book for the #NALitLoversPH #NewAdultAndBeyondPH readalong)

Rating:

4

You may want to read my girls’ reviews of this book, too. 🙂

Claire’s review

Bea’s review

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

GR signature 2

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

