Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Four Seconds to Lose by K.A. Tucker

Four Seconds to Lose (Ten Tiny Breaths, #3)

Four Seconds to Lose
(Ten Tiny Breaths #3)
Author: K.A. Tucker
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: November 4, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Dark, Adult
My Rating:

4 stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

When a gorgeous young dancer walks through his door, a strip club owner must decide whether to follow his rules or his heart in the third novel by the author of One Tiny Lie and Ten Tiny Breaths.

Owning a strip club isn’t the fantasy most guys expect it to be. With long hours, a staff with enough issues to keep a psych ward in business, and the police regularly on his case, twenty-nine-year-old Cain is starting to second guess his unspoken mission to save the women he employs. And then blond, brown-eyed Charlie Rourke walks through his door, and things get really complicated. Cain abides by a strict “no sleeping with the staff” rule. But being around Charlie challenges Cain’s self-control… and it’s been a long time since any woman has done that.

Twenty-two-year-old Charlie Rourke needs a lot of money, really fast, in order to vanish before it’s too late. Taking her clothes off for men makes her stomach curl but Charlie tells herself that at least she’s putting her acting and dancing skills to good use. And though her fellow dancers seem eager to nab their sexy, sophisticated, and genuinely caring boss, she’s not interested. After all, Charlie Rourke doesn’t really exist—and the girl pretending to be her can’t get distracted by romance.

Unfortunately, Charlie soon discovers that developing feelings for Cain is inevitable, and that those feelings may not be unrequited—but losing him when he finds out what she’s involved with will be more painful than any other sentence awaiting her.

my thoughts new

img_8813

“We are simply two good people with equally flawed pasts, looking for perfect futures. And I think we’ve found it, in each other.”

I knew I would love this book the moment I’ve read its premise because, omg it’s all about Cain! This man made me feel drawn to him when I’ve read about his character in Ten Tiny Breaths. And when I learned that he’s a part of this series, I was so hyped!

Four Seconds to Lose is quite different compared to the previous books of this series mainly because of its dark theme. We get to know a new character here named Charlie Rourke. Charlie grew up under the care of her step-dad named Sam. Unfortunately her life is a mess. Her step-dad deals with drugs and he uses and controls her to take a big part of it. When she was sent to Miami for a secret drug dealership, she started planning for an escape, particularly giving in to the idea of a new identity. And of course she can’t do it without enough money, so she went to stripping, a job that potentially offers a lot of money in just few nights, at a club which is owned by the quiet and dangerously notorious man, Cain. The moment Charlie and Cain met, there’s already a sexual attraction going on which further led to deeper feelings. But Cain doesn’t know about her past and her real identity and Charlie doesn’t plan to let him know because it will just endanger his life.

There was edginess here that made me feel anxious and that’s one thing that I loved about this book. It was fully nerve-wracking. Charlie and her hidden activities were too much for me to handle. And then Cain trying to save her– I knew their whole situation is going to be a lot more difficult.

I especially loved the plot. There was a little bit of mystery and the romantic build-up totally won everything. And the smexy scenes– don’t even get me started. When it comes to the characters, I loved them both. Cain is one helluvah irresistible man. I loved how he treated Charlie and the rest of the girls who are working at his club. Charlie, on the hand, impressed me with her strength and her will to move on and get past her miserable life. I also loved the cameo appearances of the characters from the previous books and how they all became closely connected in the end. My only tiny complain though is the near-end chapters and the resolution. They kind of felt hurried to me. Nevertheless, I’m still glad I got the ending that I hoped for.

As a whole, Four Seconds to Lose is quite simply an amazing book. I even loved it more than I loved the first two books of the series because it’s simply different. This book totally brought out such a sweet, stunning, and thrilling romantic story that I surely wouldn’t forget.

Rating:

4 stars

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

GR signature 2

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Review: Four Seconds to Lose by K.A. Tucker

  1. What Aria Loves on said:

    Pearl! I need more of these New Adult books! This series seem to be one I’d really enjoy. Great review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

