Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Five Ways to Fall by K.A. Tucker

Five Ways to Fall (Ten Tiny Breaths, #4)

Five Ways to Fall
(Ten Tiny Breaths #4)
Author: K.A. Tucker
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: June 24, 2013=4
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Adult
My Rating:

2 Stars smile

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Purple-haired, sharp-tongued Reese MacKay knows all about making the wrong choice; she’s made plenty of them in her twenty-odd-years. So when her impulsive, short-lived marriage ends in heartbreak, she decides it’s time for a change. She moves to Miami with the intention of hitting reset on her irresponsible life, and she does quite well…aside from an epically humiliating one-night stand in Cancun with a hot blond bouncer named Ben. Thank God she can get on a plane and leave that mistake behind her.

Football scholarship and frat parties with hot chicks? Part of charmer Ben Morris’s plan. Blown knee that kills any hope of a professional football career? So not part of the plan. Luckily Ben has brains to go with his knockout looks and magnetism. After three long years of balancing law school with his job as a bouncer at Penny’s Palace, he’s ready to lead a more mature life—until his first day of work, when he finds himself in the office of that crazy, hot chick he met in Cancun. The one he hasn’t stopped thinking about.

If Ben truly were a smart guy, he’d stay clear of Reese. She’s the boss’s stepdaughter and it’s been made very clear that office romances are grounds for dismissal. Plus, rumor has it she’s trouble. The only problem is, he likes trouble, especially when it’s so good-looking…

my thoughts new

img_9321

Well this is sad. I enjoyed the previous books of this series especially Ten Tiny Breaths and Four Seconds to Lose but this book just wasn’t in the cards. I wish I’d love this book but I honestly couldn’t get into it.

Five Ways to Fall is the fourth book of Ten Tiny Breaths series. It centers around Ben Morris— the hot bouncer slash law student that we’ve met in the previous books, and Reese McKay— a troubled purple haired girl who experienced such heartache when her husband cheated on her. The two of them met at Cancun when Reese celebrated her 21st birthday. They kind of flirted there but after a drunken night Reese disappeared and left him. It was after two months when they unexpectedly met again.

The problem I had with this book was the plot itself. It was bland. Maybe because Four Seconds to Lose left me with an adrenaline rush that made this book kind of dull for me. Five Ways to Fall lacked an interesting flow of the story. I have no problem with the writing style because K.A. Tucker does it great but the way the story was delivered was kind of meh.

I also didn’t feel especially connected to the characters. I loved Ben in the previous books but I don’t know why he lacked some appeal here. And Reese– she’s not a bad character at all but there was also something about her that’s missing and I guess it’s the depth that I’m always looking for.

The romance was also a problem here. The characters kind of lacked chemistry and I felt the romance was forced. And there was no twist and climax (which were present in Ten Tiny Breaths and Four Seconds to Lose).

img_9206

Much as I tried, I just couldn’t like this book. I struggled finishing it and at least half a dozen times I was ready to put this book down for good, but I still did finish it. It unfortunately just came too short and I felt bad about it.

One of the reasons why I rated it 2 stars instead of 1 star is because of the author’s writing style which is as always, easy and comfortable to read. I also felt the characters’ development in the book. I am glad that Ben finally reached his dreams and Reese was able to move on from her failed marriage. All in all, this book was underwhelming but I still recommend the series to all romance lovers because the previous books are surely a win.

Rating:

2 Stars smile

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

GR signature 2

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Review: Five Ways to Fall by K.A. Tucker

  1. Aw man. 😦 Sorry this didn’t do it for you. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this series so I’m definitely in doubt to pick it up, but her Burying Water series is no doubt her best yet. 😀 Great review, Pearl!

    • I have to read her Burying Water series then! I actually loved the previous books of this series. They are good, especially Ten Tiny Breaths and Four Seconds to Lose. This book, however, just didn’t work out for me. 😦 Thank you, Blessie! ❤

Leave a Reply

