Review: Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

Royally Screwed (Royally, #1)

Royally Screwed
(Royally #1)
Author: Emma Chase
Publisher: Emma Chase, LLC
Published: October 18, 2016
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

3 Stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you.

Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.

Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants.

Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.

There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner.

But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.

Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King… or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.

my thoughts new

“Infamy is temporary, celebrity is fleeting, but royalty… royalty is forever.”

(I buddyread this book with the amazing Bea. Check her review by clicking her name.)

Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook. By the sound of his name you already know your heart is about to pop out of your chest and go crazy. Because he is indeed such a swoon-worthy royal character. And perhaps the prospect of reading about a prince being labeled His Royal Hotness is the main reason why I was drawn into this book.

Told in alternating POVs between the main characters, Royally Screwed gives us a view of what modern day royalty romance novel is like. I haven’t read a lot of books that fall into this category because mostly I used to devour historical romances– with are about dukes and princes and lords (which I loved and missed, by the way) so starting this book kind of thrilled me. No way will I ever dislike royal characters *coughs Dorian Havilliard *coughs Cal *coughs Nikolai Lantsov.

But apparently this book was not perfect for me. Yes, I enjoyed it and it’s all because Your Highness Nicholas Pembrook has always been very funny. Like most Emma Chase’s books where the male leads don’t fail to entertain with their hilarious and naughty POVs, Prince Nicholas is no different. His POV actually reminds me of Drew Evans from Tangled. And I guess that’s the problem. I wanted him to be a little bit different to Emma Chase’s previous characters. I wanted to meet a hero that is, in a way, refreshing. But Nicholas wasn’t. Cocky, flirtatious, and somewhat always horny (lol), he is Drew Evans.

Anyways, many reviews say this new book of Emma Chase is cliché. True. But I have no problem with that because this is fiction and aren’t we all here to get lost in a world full of cliché? The story starts when Prince of Wessco, Nicholas, went to the United States to chase after his notorious brother Prince Henry. While in the US, he accidentally met a beautiful commoner named Olivia “Liv” Hammond who works as a waitress in a cafe. Guess what? The prince developed insta-attraction to Olivia. Even though he was drunk that time, he was well aware that the woman has gorgeous curves and luscious mouth. Eventually they went out together and managed to avoid media and… yes, had sex a couple of times. They however made a deal that their hook-up will never last because Nicholas is about to get marry to some royal girl in Wessco.

You can basically imagine the conflict here. Being in love with a man with a power and wealth– it’s too overwhelming for Olivia. And being attached to a commoner — Nicholas is royally screwed. It was indeed a clichéd type of story but it made me a bit excited while reading it. And scared for Olivia. What if the Queen will not like her? What if she will be criticized by the people in Wessco? So many reasons to feel anxious. I did enjoy the thrill the plot brought me.

But my main reason for not rating this book higher than 3 stars is both the main characters. Nicholas unfortunately didn’t steal my heart 100% because he appeared to be insensitive for the most part of the book. I didn’t like the way he came up with a resolution to their conflict. For me it was kind of stupid and uncaring. As for Olivia, I really hoped she had it in her to say “no” sometimes and not “yes” all the time whenever Nicholas asks her for anything. A little bit of playing hard to get and having Nicholas exert an effort wouldn’t hurt, right?

The ending, however, brought a smile to my face. It was sweet despite the fact that it’s also a bit predictable. But I liked how it ended in a way that everyone was happy. Well, almost. There’s still one character who badly needs his own piece of happily ever after. I’m looking at you, Prince Henry. I’m so excited to read his story in the next book, Royally Matched. OMG, did the blurb just say it has The Selection and The Bachelor vibes??? *grabby hands. This should be fun!

All in all, Royally Screwed was an alright read for me. I didn’t hate it but at least I liked certain parts of it. Emma Chase continues to write such a fun, adorable smuttastic read. 🙂

Rating:

3 Stars

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

GR signature 2

Leave a Reply

