ARC Review: Beautiful Crazy by Kasey Lane

Beautiful Crazy (Rock 'n' Ink, #1)

Beautiful Crazy
(Rock ‘n’ Ink #1)
Author: Kasey Lane
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Date of Publication: November 1, 2016
Genre: Romance, Adult, New Adult, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

“Vibrant and sexy! The chemistry between Kevan and Mason is explosive and I was cheering for their happy ever after from page one.” -Stefanie London, USA Today bestselling author of the Dangerous Bachelors Club series

“You confound me. You’re all these maddening contradictions that don’t make any sense… And I can’t get enough of your special brand of beautiful crazy.”

She’s a rocker with attitude and ink…
He’s a sexy suit who gets what he wants

Kevan Landry is trying to keep her life on track and her brother in rehab. If her fledgling marketing firm can sign the hot new band, Manix Curse, it will make a world of difference. Mason Dillon heads the most successful music PR firm in Portland. He’s desperate to breathe new life into the company by signing Manix Curse.

The last thing either one needs is a one-night stand with a smoldering stranger…

The stakes are high when a battle for the band-in the bedroom and the boardroom-becomes a battle of the heart. But if these two can set aside their differences, they may find they’re the right mix of sexy savvy to conquer both their worlds.

“Get ready for your new auto-buy author! Kasey Lane’s debut hits all the high notes in this rock-infused love story! I loved it!” -Megan Crane, USA Today bestselling author of Edge of Control and Devil’s Honor

“Beautiful Crazy is like driving a vintage convertible in August-hot to the touch and sexy as hell!” -Kaylie Newell, author of the Wolfe Creek series

my thoughts new

If I could describe this book in one word, it would be “kick-ass”. Tatted and with punk personality, our heroine Kevan Landry is on a mission and that is to sign the coolest metal band known as “Manix Curse” as her first major entertainment marketing client. However, someone is ruining her chances and that is Mason Dillon— CEO of Global Entertainment Marketing who happens to also pursue Manix Curse for the same project. Worse, he also happens to be the guy she had a one-night-stand with at a club.

While Beautiful Crazy didn’t capture me like I wish it would, there were still parts that I enjoyed. Like Kevan and Mason’s push and pull romance. I loved that these two were able to bring out the best in them by simply having that tight competition they were up against each other. At first I thought I wouldn’t like Kevan’s street-smart personality (I envisioned her to be somewhat sarcastic) but I was wrong. She was indeed a likeable character. She’s responsible and success-driven– things that I like about a character.

The only thing that made this book quite a drawback was Mason. His character wasn’t that consistent. When he was introduced at the first chapter during their club scene, he appeared to be like all-Alpha and panty-dropping dominant but later on his character did change and as I went through the pages, I no longer saw any glimpse of his Alpha personality. Instead I saw a man with playful, carefree playboy personality. Where did that Mason-from-the-club go???

The romance was good. There were of course tons of hot and smexy scenes in places and the chemistry was also palpable. There was also a conflict but the resolution was fairly predictable. I found the writing also promising, although I wish this book was written in a 1st person POV. I don’t know but reading it in a 3rd person POV sounds a bit awkward. As a whole, it was a good romance book but it didn’t really knock my socks off. I would recommend it to fans of romance books with one-night-stand tropes.

(An ARC was provided to me by Sourcebooks Casablanca and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.)

Rating:

3 Stars

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

GR signature 2

Leave a Reply

