Review: Marriage Games by C.D. Reiss

Marriage Games (The Games Duet, #1)

Marriage Games
(The Games Duet #1)
Author: C.D. Reiss
Publisher: Flip City Media Inc.
Published: October 22, 2016
Genre: Romance, Adult, Erotica, BDSM, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

THIRTY DAYS
That’s all Adam Steinbeck demands of his wife.
Thirty days in a remote cottage, doing everything he demands. After that, he’ll sign her divorce papers and give her complete ownership of their company.

THIRTY DAYS
That’s how long he has to rediscover the man he once was. The Dominant Master he hid when he fell in love with her five years ago.

THIRTY DAYS
She wants the business they built badly enough to go to the cottage for a month. Cut off ties to the world and do his bidding. She can submit to him with her body, but her heart will never yield.

She thinks this is his pathetic attempt to repair their marriage.

She’s wrong.

This book stunned me in so many levels. It’s been quite a while since I enjoyed a dark love story with a BDSM content that does not suffer a “wannabe” syndrome like some books do. So you can just imagine how amazed I was after reading this book. It was so gripping it managed to stir me up all the way through.

Caution: This book is not for everybody, and certainly not for the faint-hearted.:-)

Told in 2 different POVs, Marriage Games started when the marriage of Diana Barnes Steinbeck and Adam Steinbeck was about to fall down. Diana left a letter to Adam saying that she needs a divorce because she no longer felt their connection as a married couple. Adam did not immediately let her, but instead, he asked for thirty days for them to be together and to show her the things that he hid all throughout their marriage– his life as a Dom.

“Bedroom games. That’s all it is. But they’re serious, and when played right, everyone wins.”

I didn’t set high expectations prior to reading this. Seeing my friends’ 5-star ratings made me felt skeptical because some top-rated books just do not work out for me. BUT THIS. WAS. SO. FREAKING. GOOD.

I loved C.D. Reiss‘s writing. It’s my first time to read a book written by her and she just blew my mind with her poetic and lyrical tone that felt so right for a dark book like this. I was amazed by the back-and-forth narration between the past and the present events. It was so engaging and it made me want to read more and more in order for me to find out what the heck is really happening with the two.

“You’re a submmissive, and the Dominant in me always knew it.”

This book basically explored deep and complex thoughts from a man who fell into the world of BDSM. It was then when I read Adam’s POV that I felt kind of enlightened. His thoughts simply show that not everyone who gets involved with this strange sexual act wants to do it to their loved partner. Some people hide it because they do not want to show their “dark” side which would taunt the relationship. They have this need to protect and to just be “normal”.

What I especially loved about this book was the balance between the romance and the intimate scenes. Just by reading it, you can feel the deep connection between the two characters. You can feel the emotions, the conflict, and the confusion through their POVs.

The characters were also admirable. This is a BDSM book but I was surprised to find a feisty, strong heroine. Diana is the kind of heroine that does not annoy me nor bother me because of her tendency to become vulnerable, but she was such an amazing character.

Everything about this book– the plotline, the characters, the writing, the romance, the hot kinky scenes — was good. I daresay it’s one of the best page-turners I’ve read so far. The ending was a cliffhanger, but it made me feel excited to find out how the story would end.

“I love you. Every version of me loves you.”

Rating:

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

One thought on “Review: Marriage Games by C.D. Reiss

Leave a Reply

