Review: All Broke Down by Cora Carmack

All Broke Down (Rusk University, #2)

All Broke Down
(Rusk University #2)
Author: Cora Carmack
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Published: October 28, 2014
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

 

In this second book in New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cora Carmack s New Adult, Texas-set Rusk University series, which began with All Lined Up, a young woman discovers that you can’t only fight for what you believe in… sometimes you have to fight for what you love.

Dylan fights for lost causes. Probably because she used to be one.

Environmental issues, civil rights, corrupt corporations, and politicians you name it, she’s probably been involved in a protest. When her latest cause lands her in jail overnight, she meets Silas Moore. He’s in for a different kind of fighting. And though he’s arrogant and infuriating, she can’t help being fascinated with him. Yet another lost cause.

Football and trouble are the only things that have ever come naturally to Silas. And it’s trouble that lands him in a cell next to do-gooder Dylan. He’s met girls like her before fixers, he calls them, desperate to heal the damage and make him into their ideal boyfriend. But he doesn’t think he’s broken, and he definitely doesn’t need a girlfriend trying to change him. Until, that is, his anger issues and rash decisions threaten the only thing he really cares about: his spot on the Rusk University football team. Dylan might just be the perfect girl to help.

Because Silas Moore needs some fixing after all.

If you are a die-hard fan of sports romance, you are bound to adore yet another great book from the Rusk University series. All Broke Down is a sweet and angst-driven college romance book that heavily explores family drama, told by both main characters Silas Moore and Dylan Brenner.

Silas is the running back of Rusk University’s football team. When his friend Levi was expelled from the school and the football team, he felt like everything is crumbling down and his horrible past seems to come back. One night he got involved in a bar fight with Levi which led him to jail. At the holding cell, he met the blonde rich girl Dylan who also happened to be arrested because of her involvement with a student activism that caused a conflict.

I didn’t initially warm up to the story at first because of the insta-love (sort of insta-attraction) thing that happened but then as the story went on, I realized that Silas and Dylan’s relationship was more than just instant. Their friends-with-benefits “deal” actually made me look forward to seeing them leveling their relationship up and be together as a couple.

The book had a good dash of sweet romance and oh my… there were loads of steamy scenes too which was something that I didn’t expect (The first book All Lined Up wasn’t this hot, you know). I found Silas and Dylan’s chemistry really undeniable from start to finish.

I just had a little issue with Silas. He was really such a jerk at times. I wanted to see some effort on his part when it comes to making Dylan feel a little bit special but I thought Dylan was the only one who worked too hard here.

I loved the ending but I wasn’t really that fully satisfied because of some unresolved conflicts. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the story as a whole. All Broke Down kept me on my toes and had me all up my feels, enough for me to overlook my issues. I loved most of Dylan and Silas’s interactions and Cora Carmack’s beautiful writing once again sucked me in, so this was an overall winner for me.

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

 

2 thoughts on “Review: All Broke Down by Cora Carmack

  1. If I *had* to pick a favorite from the Rusk University series it would probably be this one. I just really loved Silas and Dylan. Carson and Dallas from the first book were so sweet and there was an ease with them. I loved the more fiery nature of Silas and Dylan’s personalities and relationship. And Silas… I admit I have a total soft spot for the bad boys with a heart of gold. 🙂

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Like

Leave a Reply

