Review: Stuck-Up Suit by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

Stuck-Up Suit

Stuck-Up Suit
Author: Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward
Publisher: C. Scott Publishing Corp.
Published: April 11, 2016
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

 

Four consecutive weeks on the New York Times and #1 in Romance.

It started out like any other morning on the train.
Until I became mesmerized by the guy sitting across the aisle.
He was barking at someone on his phone like he ruled the world.
Who did the stuck-up suit think he was…God?
Actually, he looked like a God. That was about it.
When his stop came, he got up suddenly and left. So suddenly, he dropped his phone on the way out.
I might have picked it up.
I might have gone through all of his photos and called some of the numbers.
I might have held onto the mystery man’s phone for days―until I finally conjured up the courage to return it.
When I traipsed my ass across town to his fancy company, he refused to see me.
So, I left the phone on the empty desk outside the arrogant jerk’s office.
I might have also left behind a dirty picture on it first though.
I didn’t expect him to text back.
I didn’t expect our exchanges to be hot as hell.
I didn’t expect to fall for him―all before we even met.
The two of us couldn’t have been any more different.
Yet, you know what they say about opposites.
When we finally came face to face, we found out opposites sometimes do more than attract―we consumed each other.
Nothing could have prepared me for the ride he took me on. And I certainly wasn’t prepared for where I’d wind up when the ride was over.
All good things must come to an end, right?
Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming.

What started out as a light and playful read suddenly transformed into something that is filled with drama. But, guess what? I still loved it. Because angst. I eat angst. I breathe angst. Seriously. This book crawled under my skin and disarmed me in many ways possible.

Stuck-Up Suit begins when Soraya Venedetta and Graham Morgan had a crazy interaction on the train. They didn’t have a pleasant first meeting because Graham acted like an arrogant jerk not just to her but to the person he was talking to on the phone. When Graham accidentally left his phone on the train, Soraya picked it up and decided to return it the following day. But before she did it, she first did some stalkings. She was surprised to find out that Graham does have a soft side, after all. Upon returning the phone to Morgan Financial Holdings to which he’s the owner, Graham still acted like a prick and this led her to take a photo of her sexy body parts using his phone before handing it to his receptionist.

The first parts were enjoyable and flirty. Graham and Soraya’s sexy exchange of text messages was a ray of sunshine lol. I like that these characters have an undeniable chemistry which just made the sexual tension even more delectable. The second part became something serious because of the sudden change of the tone.

There was a bit of a twist that changed the plot entirely. I wasn’t surprised by this knowing that this has always been the game of Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward. I have to say that everything was done neatly.

Throwing in some bitchy secondary characters like Avery and Genebieve and things got sour. I really hate it when antagonists just ruin the story. But I loved Chloe and grandma Meme. They’re adorable characters!

The book was not without some predictable situations, but it was mainly satisfying. It gave me a good laugh and a good cry. Not to mention that there was a good amount of steam. Plus, a HEA. Graham and Soraya’s love story, all in all, managed to make me fall in love!

(P.S. Thank you to my lovely friend Hulya for recommending this book to me. You are the best! You can read her entertaining review by clicking her name. :))

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Stuck-Up Suit by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

  1. I listened to this one on audio a few months ago and enjoyed it. It was my first by Keeland/Ward. In an way I felt like the twist toward the end was too much and kind of muddied the plot but it did make for an interesting twist and I like how it played out. I definitely need to read (or listen) to more from this writing duo.

    Like

    • I so agree with you, Tanya. That part was a little but heavy and serious that it took the fun away. You should read Playboy Pilot, also written by these duo. For me that book is their best work so far! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

