Review: Egomaniac by Vi Keeland

Egomaniac

Egomaniac
Author: Vi Keeland
Publisher: Everafter Romance
Published: December 24, 2016 
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

 

A new standalone novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Vi Keeland

The night I met Drew Jagger, he’d just broken into my new Park Avenue office.
I dialed 9-1-1 before proceeding to attack him with my fancy new Krav Maga skills.
He quickly restrained me, then chuckled, finding my attempted assault amusing.

Of course, my intruder had to be arrogant.
Only, turned out, he wasn’t an intruder at all.

Drew was the rightful occupant of my new office.  He’d been on vacation while his posh space was renovated.
Which was how a scammer got away with leasing me office space that wasn’t really available for rent.
I was swindled out of ten grand.

The next day, after hours at the police station, Drew took pity on me and made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.  In exchange for answering his phones while his secretary was out, he’d let me stay until I found a new place.
I probably should have acted grateful and kept my mouth shut when I overheard the advice he was spewing to his clients.  But I couldn’t help giving him a piece of my mind.
I never expected my body to react every time we argued.  Especially when that was all we seemed to be able to do.

The two of us were complete opposites. Drew was a bitter, angry, gorgeous-as-all-hell destroyer of relationships.  And my job was to help people save their marriages.
The only thing the two of us had in common was the space we were sharing.
And an attraction that was getting harder to deny by the day.

What I love about Vi Keeland is that her books always manage to hook me from the beginning and keep me hanging on until the very end. That’s what Egomaniac did to me.

Drew Jagger is a lawyer who practices on his own. When he returned to his office from his Hawaii vacation, he was shocked to find out that there’s a stranger inside and it’s a woman with a fiery red hair. When Emerie Rose saw him, she was horrified and she instantly threatened him to go away because she’s going to call a cop. She then claimed that it’s her office and she’s been staying there for a while now. Turns out that she rented the place and paid a large sum of money to a scammer!

It’s my first time to read a book where both characters have opposing nature of work (Drew as a divorce attorney and Emerie as a marriage counselor) and I loved it because it showed a unique characterization. The romance was wonderfully done. Vi Keeland did an amazing job building a great chemistry between Drew and Emerie. Man, these two are quite a pair! The only thing that I didn’t quite like was Drew’s attitude. There were multiple places throughout the story where he was a bit conceited. Well, duh. The title shows it eh? I didn’t see any character development with him, though, and I wished his “egomaniac” ways were somehow lessened as the story goes.

Having said that, I loved how balanced this book was. It started out cute and entertaining and in the middle part, it became sweet. Then there were little conflicts from Drew’s past that, thank God, didn’t ruin the story. Those conflicts made Drew and Emerie become a good team. I enjoyed watching them work their issues out.

As this book fell into the workplace romance trope, the way they worked together in one place where it’s fueled with sexual tension was a bit crazy, too. In a good way. I loved this book as a whole!

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

 

Leave a Reply

