Review: Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover

Point of Retreat (Slammed, #2)

Point of Retreat
(Slammed #2)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Published: October 11, 2012
Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Layken and Will have managed to overcome the obstacles that threatened to destroy their love, proving that they are destined for one another. What they are about to learn, however, is that the things that have brought them together may be the very things that ruin their connection forever…
Layken is left second-guessing the relationship whilst Will is jumping over hurdles to prove his love for her. What the young lovers discover about themselves along this journey may change their entire world and the lives of those who depend upon them the most…

CHEESE… CHEESE… BUTTERFLYING CHEESE!

Maybe my experience with this book and this series would have been a lot better if I’ve read them as soon as they came out. I found CoHo’s writing non-satisfying compared to her other books which came out later, like Ugly Love and Confess.

While Point of Retreat offered life lessons and so much more, I found the story lacking substance. The plotline was less intense and there wasn’t even a big, remarkable twist. Don’t blame me. All CoHo’s books have that trademark twists so it was kind of hard for me to believe there wasn’t any here.

The over-the-top cheesy lines and dialogues were the main thing that ruined the book for me. And man, don’t even get me started on Lake and Will’s PDA scenes. Sheeesh!

The good things:

I loved Will’s character development. How he became more responsible and tough despite the hardships that came to him and Lake.

I also loved how the secondary characters became a huge part of Will and Lake’s lives. The concept of friendship was definitely apparent here.

The bad:

Lake was annoying here. Most of the time.

What happened in Part 2 was too much and totally unnecessary.

I was looking for something that would make this book different and unforgettable but 😦 Nevertheless, I’m still glad I’ve read and tried my luck with this book/series because I really don’t want to miss a single book written by CoHo. Too bad this came late on my list. Lol.

“Love is the most beautiful thing in the world. Unfortunately, it’s also one of the hardest things in the world to hold on to, and one of the easiest things to throw away.”

 

Rating:

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

 

Leave a Reply

