Review: Wethering the Storm by Samantha Towle

Wethering the Storm (The Storm, #2)

Wethering Storm
(The Mighty Storm #2)
Author: Samantha Towle
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Published: August 20, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Music journalist Tru Bennett has done the impossible: capture the heart of rock-star bad boy Jake Wethers. Now they’re busy planning a wedding and navigating their new life together in the US. Of course Tru misses London and her best friend, Simone, but living happily ever after with Jake in LA is going to be great…right?

Wrong. Even the bright California sun can’t whitewash the dark side of celebrity coupledom. Greedy music execs, merciless paparazzi, and Jake’s wild past are lurking around every corner. Making matters worse, Jake announces he doesn’t want kids, which just may be a deal breaker.

Tru loves Jake more than anything. But when a devastating crisis threatens to destroy everything they’ve fought for, the couple must face the hard truth: What if, this time, love is not enough?

“There is no one else for me. I begin and end with you.”

I was so freaking nervous while reading the continuation of Jake and Tru’s story. There were a lot of bumps in the road in the first book so I had to brace myself here, knowing there will be a lot more. Sure enough, there were things that tested their strength and dedication to make their relationship work and all I did was rooting for their happily ever after.

Wethering the Storm was written from dual POVs, so we get to hear from both Jake and Tru. In this book, Jake and Tru are already preparing for their big day. There are rainbows and butterflies at the start but Tru senses Jake’s indifference when it comes to planning their future. He doesn’t want to have kids, afraid that he cannot fill his duties as a father because of what his biological dad did to him and his mom in the past.

My heartstrings were pulled and my emotions were stirred in this book. There were scenes that made me teary-eyed while there were scenes that also made me smile. This book was lighter in terms of angst. But still, there was angst which was good. I loved that despite each of the characters’ flaws, they were still given a chance at a happy ending.

“You don’t complete me, Tru. You make me who I am. You make me better.”

What also made this book delightful was the molten hot and intense sexual scenes of Jake and Tru. You cannot get enough! And Jake being Jake… I didn’t expect his romantic gestures to go above and beyond. I loved his surprises to Tru here.

Overall, I loved this book a whole lot. A little clichéd and predictable, yes, but the HEA made me feel happy like no other!

“There isn’t anything I won’t do for you, Tru. Nothing I won’t do to make you happy. What I feel for you… it’s limitless. There is nothing before or after you. There is only you.”

Rating:

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

 

Leave a Reply

