Review: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

One True Loves

One True Loves
Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Published: June 7, 2016
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

 

From the author of Maybe in Another Life—named a People Magazine pick and a “Best Book of the Summer” by Glamour and USA Today—comes a breathtaking new love story about a woman unexpectedly forced to choose between the husband she has long thought dead and the fiancé who has finally brought her back to life.

In her twenties, Emma Blair marries her high school sweetheart, Jesse. They build a life for themselves, far away from the expectations of their parents and the people of their hometown in Massachusetts. They travel the world together, living life to the fullest and seizing every opportunity for adventure.

On their first wedding anniversary, Jesse is on a helicopter over the Pacific when it goes missing. Just like that, Jesse is gone forever.

Emma quits her job and moves home in an effort to put her life back together. Years later, now in her thirties, Emma runs into an old friend, Sam, and finds herself falling in love again. When Emma and Sam get engaged, it feels like Emma’s second chance at happiness.

That is, until Jesse is found. He’s alive, and he’s been trying all these years to come home to her. With a husband and a fiancé, Emma has to now figure out who she is and what she wants, while trying to protect the ones she loves.

Who is her one true love? What does it mean to love truly?

Emma knows she has to listen to her heart. She’s just not sure what it’s saying.

“I don’t think that true love means your only love. I think true love means loving truly. Loving purely. Loving wholly.”

Is it wrong for me to rate this book 4 Stars instead of 5 just because Emma’s decision in the end didn’t work in my favor? Lol. Because if it is, then I am sorry. I loved the writing style of Taylor Jenkins Reid. It’s beautiful, compelling, well thought-out. It was perfect! But the ending was not something that I want to happen and I refuse to accept it until now.

description

One True Loves took me on quite a ride. It’s about Emma Blair and her journey with her two true loves Jesse Lerner and Sam Kemper. She fell in love with Jesse when she was in her 9th grade. In her twenties, the two of them got married and traveled around the world, far from their families in their hometown in Massachusetts. On the day before their anniversary, Jesse flew to Alaska but after a few days, Emma’s life was shattered when she heard that the private plane that carried Jesse crashed and his body went missing. Her hopes of finding him alive vanished as the days went by, leading her to presume that he’s dead and to return to her hometown and start a new life. Two years later, she unexpectedly reunited with her childhood friend Sam who later on gave her hope of finding true love again. Now that they’re already engaged and they’re both happy, Emma suddenly received a call from Jesse. He is, after all, alive.

“True love doesn’t always last. It doesn’t always have to be for a lifetime.”

I believe this is one of the most beautiful books I’ve read in my entire life. And most thought-provoking. I loved how the whole story was portrayed, how the romance touched me so deeply, and how the turn of events played my mind. Right off the bat, I knew exactly who to root for and I was really hoping against hope that he will be the “one true love” that Emma will choose.

This my first Taylor Jenkins Reid read and I’m already a fan. This author has a way of taking something so emotional and turning it into a beautiful novel. I am so glad I picked this book because even if it broke my heart in the end, the overall journey was worth it. Now if I would be given a chance to change an ending of a book, I would really change the conclusion of One True Loves without hesitating. Ugh. Can you feel my frustration?

“Just because something isn’t meant to last a lifetime doesn’t mean it wasn’t meant to be. We were meant to have been.”

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

 

2 thoughts on “Review: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

  1. This was one of my very few 5 star reads last year. Totally loved it! By halfway through I was positive of how I wanted it to end. Then I started to waver. And by the end I was sad but happy. LOL I credit Reid’s writing with making me happy with an ending that was (at one point) the exact opposite of what I wanted to happen. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg Tanya by the sound of it, I think we are both rooting for the same guy…? LOL. I was happy with the ending too, but I would be happier if it was the guy I’m rooting for to end up with Emma. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

