Review: Amnesia by Cambria Hebert

Amnesia (Amnesia, #1)

Amnesia
(Amnesia #1)
Author: Cambria Hebert
Publisher: Cambria Hebert
Published: June 10, 2017
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Suspense, Mystery, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

I washed ashore in a little lake town.
A place where everyone knows everyone, yet…
No one knows me.
I don’t know me.
If a woman doesn’t know her own name, does she really exist?
I don’t know my natural hair color, my birthdate, or where I live.
I am invisible.
To everyone, to everything, even to myself.
Except to him.
I see the recognition deep in his stare, the way it lingers on my face as if I’m a puzzle he’s desperate to put together.
I just want answers, the truth… knowledge.
His lips are sealed. Still, his eyes beguile me.
I can’t trust anyone, not even myself. Someone wants me dead, the same someone who tried to bury me in a watery grave.
They’ll come for me again… I won’t know their face.
I don’t even know mine.
I am amnesia.

“My life was a beautiful lie. And beneath the beautiful lie lurked an ugly truth.”

There was nothing to prepare me for the magnetism of this book. I was simply blown away! This book is my first Cambria Hebert read and it certainly did not disappoint. The book was filled to the brim with drama and danger, the mystery spot-on and perfectly delivered.

In a small, sleepy lake town in Maine, an unconscious lady was floating in the water and was found by Edward “Eddie” Donovan. It only took one look at her to recognize a familiar face from his past. He immediately took her to the local hospital. After two months of being in a coma, the lady woke up without a memory. Questions were hovering over her head and strange men were just around the corner, waiting to attack her. Little did she know that the answers can only be found in the lake.

“Now my biggest fear wasn’t what if I never remembered… It was what if I did.”

The book was unputdownable and it’s because of the tight and engaging plot that continued to thicken chapter by chapter. The mystery was nicely executed and the suspenseful scenes grabbed me by the throat, so be prepared for this kind of effect when you read this book.

The fact that the story depicted abuse, the author didn’t fail to capture the complicated emotions of the abused heroine Amnesia. I liked her character. She was brave and despite everything that she’s been through, she always had the will to face her painful and terrifying past. When it comes to the romantic aspect, I loved it but not so much. Eddie and Amnesia’s romance was heart-warming but it was hard for me to warm up to the insta-love and some cheesy dialogues which I considered the only drawback to this book.

One thing I should warn you about: The book ended up with a cliffhanger, so beware. I am excited to read the second book as so many questions are unanswered yet. As a whole, I highly recommend Amnesia. This is a perfect choice if you’re a fan of romantic suspense and mystery.

“Cross my heart.
Hope to die.
You will forever be mine.”

Rating:

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Amnesia by Cambria Hebert

  1. I saw the cover and wanted to read it NOW – but then everybody talked about the cliffhanger – and I HATE cliffhanger – and now there will be book 2 – lol – you can see my conflicting. 😀

Leave a Reply

