Review: The Sexy One by Lauren Blakely

The Sexy One

The Sexy One
Author: Lauren Blakely
Publisher: Lauren Blakely Books
Published: October 17, 2016
Genre: New Adult, Adult, Romance, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

 

From NYT Bestselling author Lauren Blakely comes a sexy new standalone romance…

Let me count the ways why falling into forbidden love is not my wisest move…
1. She works with me every single day.
Did I mention she’s gorgeous, sweet, kind and smart?
2. She works in my home.
Playing with my five-year-old daughter. Teaching my little girl. Cooking for my princess. Which means…
3. She’s the nanny.
And that makes her completely off-limits… But it doesn’t stop me from wanting her. All of her.

***

The other nannies in this city don’t call him the Sexy One for nothing. My boss, the amazingly wonderful single father to the girl I take care of every day is ridiculously hot, like movie star levels with those arms, and those eyes, and that body. Not to mention, the way he dotes on his little girl melts me all over. But what really makes my knees weak are the times when his gaze lingers on me. In secret. When no one else is around.

I can’t risk my job for a chance at something more… can I? But I don’t know how to resist him much longer either…

“He’s the prize in the available dad sweepstakes.”

I have come to rely on Lauren Blakely to provide the best rom-com books. The Sexy One is no exception. Yes, the story was a bit of a cliché; yes, the romantic development may have happened a little too fast; and yes, there was cheese along the way. But, did I enjoy myself? Absolutely!

Abby Becker has been working for the hot, single dad Simon Travers for months as a nanny to his five-year-old daughter. She totally adores her job because it does not only support her studies and pays the bills but Simon’s daughter is a total sweetheart and Simon is… well, the sexiest dad in the world. And she’s been crushing on him. She’s not aware that Simon is also lusting over her, though and the feeling is mutual. But would they let their attraction to each other move forward when they think to have a relationship while Abby’s working as a nanny would sound so right and so wrong at the same time?

I loved that both characters are likable here. Both are well-developed and mature and responsible enough. Plus, there was no drama and unnecessary complications. Simon’s ex-wife wasn’t even a pain in the ass to Simon and Abby’s relationship although she acted like a bitch to Abby.

This was just a light read and you could finish it in one sitting. And because it is laced with humor, you would definitely find yourself laughing out loud at some hilarious scenes. And oh, who wouldn’t want some smexy love scenes thrown in the corners? I highly recommend this book to every romance fan who wants to read something light, easy, and sexy. 🙂

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

 

Leave a Reply

