Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
(Harry Potter #1)
Author: J.K. Rowling
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Published: September 1, 2014 (First Published: June 26, 1997)
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
My Rating:

description

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

When a letter arrives for unhappy but ordinary Harry Potter, a decade-old secret is revealed to him that apparently he’s the last to know. His parents were wizards, killed by a Dark Lord’s curse when Harry was just a baby, and which he somehow survived. Leaving his unsympathetic aunt and uncle for Hogwarts, a wizarding school brimming with ghosts and enchantments, Harry stumbles upon a sinister mystery when he finds a three-headed dog guarding a room on the third floor. Then he hears of a missing stone with astonishing powers which could be valuable, dangerous – or both. An incredible adventure is about to begin!

These new editions of the classic and internationally bestselling, multi-award-winning series feature instantly pick-up-able new jackets by Jonny Duddle, with huge child appeal, to bring Harry Potter to the next generation of readers. It’s time to PASS THE MAGIC ON …

my thoughts new

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Beyond amazing! Way to start the new year! 🙂

I’ve read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone way back in High School but I wasn’t able to finish it because sad to say, my book was lost. 😦 And now, thanks to my lovely friend Allie who gave me a copy of this book, I became interested to read it once again and bring back the old times’ feels.

And WOW! Just WOW! Thank goodness I decided to read it again because it felt so magical and magnificent and totally breathtaking! — exactly what I’ve felt the first time I’ve read this.

description

Harry Potter is such a great, well-fleshed out character. Despite being parentless and being bullied both in the Muggle world and Hogwarts by some kids, he still stood up and even became a great friend to Ron, Hermione, Neville, and the others.

This story had lots of exciting adventures and I really enjoyed everything that happened in this book. It was just so awesome! The secondary characters are also perfect. I especially love Hermione and her genius mind! Ron’s loyalty towards Harry is also awe-inspiring, as well as Neville’s adorable clumsiness. When it comes to its plotline, it’s amazingly done. The twist was unpredictable and there was humor in every page that made me laugh. What’s even great are the lessons and the message that are instilled to every reader, fantasy and magic aside.

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

I loved all the chapters and my favorites are:

The Boy Who Lived, The Vanishing Glass, Diagon Alley, The Journey from Platform Nine and Three-Quarters, The Sorting Hat, and Quidditch.

No wonder why this book and the whole series continues to be a real sensation. J.K. Rowling is so brilliant she bewitched me with her world! So excited to find out more about this series and to see what’s in store for Harry in the next books. 🙂

Rating:

description

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

4 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

    • I know, Tanya! ❤ Wow! It is so brilliant! Yes, the magic and all those things make me feel captivated. Ahhh! I love HOGWARTS can someone take me there??? ❤ And yes, I'm so grateful that my friend gave me a copy of this book. After so many years…. :))

      Like

  1. I admit that I haven’t finished this series. I read up until Goblet of Fire, but it was many, many years ago and my health got bad around that time which had a negative impact on my reading(it’s hard to focus and process with really bad exhaustion). I had just bought the entire book series too as a gift to myself. Bad luck, right? Buuut I plan to start it over again soon from book one since things are starting to improve with my health, and I want to read more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww… I hope you’ll enjoy this series as you start all over again and relive the beautiful events happened here and the magical world itself. 🙂 I’m happy that you’re now back to reading and your condition is already better. :))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment