Review: The Deal by Elle Kennedy

The Deal (Off-Campus, #1)

The Deal
(Off-Campus #1)
Author: Elle Kennedy
Publisher: Elle Kennedy
Published: February 24, 2015
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

5 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

…and it’s going to be oh so good.

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

my thoughts new

“One day I was telling him to get lost, the next, I’m snuggling in bed with him. Life is so frickin’ weird sometimes.”

WOW! WHY DIDN’T I PICK THIS BOOK UP EARLIER?

description

The Deal proves to be a huge surprise in the best sense possible. It’s such a great New Adult book complete with all the elements that can make you swoon like crazy! I had so much fun reading this book. I have been eye-ing this for about a year now and I have to say that I did regret why it took me so long to dive into it.

I was immediately wrapped up in this story the moment I started it, because why not? Apart from the balls to the walls humor that Elle Kennedy put into this book, the characters made it even more interesting. The heroine Hannah Wells and the lover boy, Ice Hockey team captain of Briar University Garrett Graham are both fun and enjoyable to read. The oozing chemistry, the good-natured bickering, and the sexual tension– why, they’re both PERFECT! I can’t even find any flaw with them because Hannah is one strong-willed character (despite of what happened to her in the past) while Garrett is typically the man of your dreams! I find his cockiness and sarcasm combined with his sweetness and charm a total turn-on. And my, the way he treats Hannah and calls her “Wellsy”… I can’t even!

description

What I especially loved about this book was the relationship development between Hannah and Garrett. Some books fail to convince me on how the characters fell in love with each other because of the very insta-love thingy that goes on, but in this book, there was perfect timing: from complete strangers- to friends – to close friends – to f*ck buddies (lol) – to boyfriends-girlfriends. Both of them didn’t instantly feel that ‘connection’ and ‘spark’ but in the long run, SURPRISE! The romance was unhurried and was developed naturally and it just made me feel thrilled on how they’re going to fall in love.

Sometimes people sneak up on you and suddenly you don’t know how you ever lived without them.

And even though the book conveys heavy subject matters such as abuse, the author made everything sound lighter here because of the hilarious dialogues and the quirky, entertaining side-characters such as Logan, Dean, TuckerAllie, etc.

This book, as a whole, is absolutely 5-star worthy! It made me laugh and swoon the entire time which made it so hard for me to put it down. I believe I have just found a new favorite book and it’s because of the unbelievably humorous and delicious writing style of Elle Kennedy.

Note to self: Read more books written by her.

Rating:

5 stars new

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

12 thoughts on “Review: The Deal by Elle Kennedy

  1. I read this book last week and it is my fav NA book so far =) the chemistry between Hannah and Garrett are so intense and I love it

    Like

  2. Love seeing that this was such a hit for you! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a bad review of it. I just downloaded it a couple weeks ago and I’m so excited to start it – and meet Garrett myself. 🙂

    Like

    • YAY! Tanya! You definitely should start it ASAP. I swear this such a perfect NA book! Looking forward to your thoughts on it. Crossing my fingers that you will love it as much as I did. 🙂

      Like

    • Yay! My answer: A BIG YES! You definitely should dive into it like, right now! This is such a great NA book. You will love the characters, the humor– everything! *sigh Thank you so much for the kind words, dear. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment