Review: Then You Happened by K. Bromberg

Then You Happened

Then You Happened
Author: K. Bromberg
Publisher: JKB Publishing, LLC
Published: February 3, 2020
Genre: Romance, Adult, Contemporary

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

 

From New York Times Bestselling author K. Bromberg comes a standalone contemporary romance about trusting fate and finding yourself again.

Jack Sutton was the man I didn’t want to need.
His know-it-all attitude. His annoying suggestions. His outlook on life.
He was determined to help me while I had resolved to figure it out on my own.
But he taught me things I’d forgotten.
How to trust. How to believe in myself. Who I was.
The problem?
I went and fell in love with him.

Tatum Knox was the disaster I should have walked away from.
Her ruined reputation. Her failing business. Her chaotic life.
She hated me at first sight and yet intrigued me all at the same time.
I was only supposed to be there six months.
I was supposed to use that time to make amends for things I’d done wrong.
Instead I fell in love with her.

They say it’s better to have loved and lost, than not to have loved at all. Does that hold true when the love is based on a lie to begin with?

Wow, who knew I’d end up liking this? Never judge a book by its first few chapters, indeed. I almost DNF-ed it considering the heroine really annoyed me but I was patient enough and guess what, the book got better a few chapters ahead until the end.

Then You Happened was a unique book to devour. It gave me a Nicholas Sparks and Jude Deveraux kind of feels with its calm and quiet countryside setting shadowed with a wistful writing style that made me feel like I was actually there.

When Tatum “Tate” Knox lost her husband Fletcher, she was not only left with a misery but with a mountain of debts to pay in order to continue their small ranch from running. She met Jack Sutton when she was in the process of hiring him as her ranch manager. Their first few encounters weren’t pretty though as they bickered because they just can’t stand each other. As the story progressed, Tate realized how badly she needed his help. Jack obviously had the expertise to save her sinking livelihood. But other than that, she didn’t realize that she was slowly falling for him. What started as a steamy sexual attraction between them became something else. And while their feelings advanced into a whole new level, they discovered that they’ve been keeping secrets from each other, ones that may ruin them.

It’s my first K. Bromberg read and I definitely loved her writing style. Hands-down beautiful! It actually made me want to read her previous books such as the Driven series which I have been eye-ing for such a long time. K. Bromberg’s way of narrating the story was truly compelling that it was hard for me to put it down despite the fact that, as I mentioned, the heroine got on my nerves the first few chapters.

It wasn’t really easy to like Tate at first. At times I got so frustrated especially the way she initially treated Jack. The way she dealt with her failures and her sadness were also a bit of an annoyance. She was an immature character. But then I slowly warmed up to her when I understood everything she went through especially at how the people at Lone Star made her the star of their daily gossip. Ugh, that must be really aggravating! Tate’s character improved quite remarkably though and I was glad. It was worth my patience after all.

Jack, on the other hand, was a very likeable character. He may seem to be an arrogant man but he has soft sides that will make you melt deep down inside. I loved how he was patient with Tate and how he was there on her side, protecting her in times of challenging situations.

The romance was very well-done. It was a combination of sexy and sweet and I loved it. There was also a set of family dramas thrown into places that made me cry. It was, as a whole, an emotional and un-put-downable book. If you fancy country romance reads, then you must give this one a go.

2 thoughts on “Review: Then You Happened by K. Bromberg

Leave a comment