REVIEW: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

TFIOSewan

threestars

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

MY THOUGHTS…

This book has a beautiful story. I love how John Green created a theme that introduces the readers to the concept of Cancer and the truth about dying. It is actually a reality-based novel that doesn’t fail to capture the interest of the readers, teenagers or not. I love how I can actually relate to the medical stuffs being mentioned here, except for the Phalanxifor which was entirely a fictional drug (which I also wish would truly exist in real life to help Cancer patients) and how the author painted a better picture about the stages of grief — from denial to acceptance all throughout the book.

Anyway, John Green is no doubt, a great author. This book is well-written. There’s humor and there are witty conversations from the characters that are really sensible. It greatly taught me about life, about hope, about being able to cherish the moment while you are still alive, and about being able to love someone and show it without any limitation. Yes, because life is too short and everyone is lucky to even live up to this day. It also made me appreciate life even more. You know, it’s like this book is making me realize the importance of being healthy and alive. But of course, that’s not entirely about that. This book tells us something. That some infinities are bigger than other infinities. I just love how John Green made an abstract explanation about this during the last chapters of the book. It’s a perfect reminder to everyone that fate is not against a person, but a person makes his own fate.

There are just some things about the book that don’t sit well on me. I think I wasn’t entirely convinced about the characters’ love for each other. I mean, it’s about the storyline which was a bit hurried. I wasn’t completely taken by the way they showed how deeply in love they were. I think I just see them as people who are attracted to each other rather than being in love. And the intimate scene they had at the Amsterdam– I think it lacked emotions especially from Augustus. Well, I’m a cheezy kind of person so maybe I was just expecting some sort of romantic exchange of conversations between the two. I think they were really just more focused about how depressing their lives as cancer patients– which is understandable because this book is not entirely all about romance.

I have to admit that I did really cry while reading this book, especially when I got to the part where heartbreaking scenes already approach. I pretty much knew what’s going to happen from the beginning but still, it shredded my heart just the same. This book just ripped my heart, put it back together, and then ripped it apart again.

The Book Is…

Pros

Amazing, with heart-tugging scenes that will truly touch the readers. It’s also reality-based. It teaches a lot of lessons.

Cons

It’s with a sad concept and a tragic ending. And characters’ voices seem to sound like adults rather than teenagers.

What I Think About the Characters

Hazel Grace Lancaster

She’s one with a terminal illness. She’s depressed and the way she feels angsty about her condition and her road to oblivion kind of really wretch me. But I love her intelligence in this book.

Augustus Waters

Also with a terminal cancer who instantly felt the attraction towards Hazel from day 1. He’s a very intellectual guy and truly adorable.

My Rating for this Book: 3 Stars (I enjoyed reading this book. It’s well-written and really wholesome. It’s just that it has some flaws that give me reasons to rate it with 3/5 stars. Excited to watch the movie, though.) 🙂

Favorite Quotes from this Book

“The marks humans leave are too often scars.”

“Oh, I wouldn’t mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

“That’s the thing about pain… It demands to be felt.”

“Without pain, we couldn’t know joy.”

signature

11 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. Another beautiful review! You brought up some really interesting points and I felt myself nodding along with you. I’m sure you’ll love the movie! 🙂

    Like

  2. I agree with almost everything. I wasn’t entirely convinced that Hazel and Gus were in love (at least it’s more realistic and convincing than in The Hunger Games . . .), the dialogue is really enjoyable, the humor is witty, and the prose is just overall well-written. I’m just not understanding how teenagers’ talking “like adults” is an issue. Adults tend to speak the same way they did when they were adolescents (notice all of the adults who say “like” a thousand times in a sentence and apparently don’t know how to spell; but not ALL teens talk like that). Hazel and Gus are also supposed to be intelligent, so they wouldn’t talk like the stereotypical modern teenager, you know?

    Other than that, I do agree with what you said. [:

    Like

    • Very well said, Mickayla. I really thought their voices are more likely adults than teenagers. But, yeah, that’s fiction so there are parts that may not seem realistic. I also agree that it’s quite better than Hunger Games. 🙂 You said it right!

      Like

    • Thank you so much! 🙂 I love doing reviews much as I love reading. 🙂 By the way, I haven’t read “If I Stay” yet. That’s included on my TBRs. I’d be posting my review immediately once I’d read the book. Thanks for dropping here. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment